Abhorrent Overlord

Abhorrent Overlord

Creature — Demon
Flying
When Abhorrent Overlord enters the battlefield, create a number of 1/1 black Harpy creature tokens with flying equal to your devotion to black. (Each {B} in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)
At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice a creature.
6/6
Theros  (#75)
Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Legality

  • Legal in Modern
  • Legal in Legacy
  • Legal in Vintage
  • Legal in Commander
  • Legal in Penny
  • Legal in Pioneer

Rulings

  • 2013-09-15 Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 2013-09-15 Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 2013-09-15 Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
  • 2013-09-15 If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.